Cousin Darryl & baby Piper

My mother emailed me whilst I was in the Blue Mountains to let me know that my cousin from New Zealand was living in Rozelle, Sydney. It turns out we had watched the New Year’s Eve firework display around 500 metres from each other! I got in touch, told them about my project and got invited to stay with them which was really special for me due to the family connection. They’d visited Ireland 17 years ago and met me when I was 15 years old. Darryl says he remembered me kicking around a football on my grandmother’s lawn. I remember the story of him and his now wife Caroline who met briefly and although the lived five hours from each other in New Zealand, flew regularly to see each other for over a year and kept their flame burning until their jobs allowed them to live in the same place in New Zealand. That was in New Zealand many years ago..now they are happily settled, including being Australian citizens, in beautiful Rozelle on Sydney Bay, with two gorgeous daughters Melissa, 5 years old and Piper 5 1/2 weeks (above, in Darryl’s devoted arms). The posts following this one show highlights of their life, over 7 days in Inner West Sydney. They say you can chose your friends but not your relations…well I’d happily chose The Drown family and I’m glad they are my relations!

Leave a Reply

