Rice harvesting

It was around noon when I took this so the photo is a little “blown out” but I really like the image. I stopped a little longer than the rest of the group, to have a closer look at the way rice is harvested. I remember growing and harvesting corn by hand with a sickle on our farm at home when I was very young in a very similar way. It’s not that long ago that Irish farming methods were as basic as this. I wonder that the lady looking so intensely at me was thinking…I don’t imagine she knew I was from a farm. I often wish I could speak the local language fluently and relay my childhood memories to the people in the country here, just so they know I understand what they’re doing.

Leave a Reply

